Devo 7e DN button issue

More
18 May 2014 21:57 #23323 by oldyoyoguy
Devo 7e DN button issue was created by oldyoyoguy
Hi, I'm a newb. I've got a Devo 7e running Deviation 4.0.1-1. I'm not sure when this started happening, but I noticed that the DN button is no longer working; UP works fine. Generally I wouldn't have a problem with this, since on most of the menus UP/DN tend to wrap, but not when you're selecting models apparently. I was wondering if this is definitely a hardware issue (e.g. switch has just given out), or if there is something in the software that needs tweaking. I've tried reflashing the firmware with no luck. I broke into the unit and tried the microswitch directly with no change in behavior. I'm guessing I'll have to replace the switch. It looks straightforward enough with only five leads, but I'm not exactly sure what I'm getting myself into. I'm kind of surprised the switch would fail, I've only had the unit for a few months and I don't use those buttons that often. Thanks for any guidance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 May 2014 00:38 #23324 by SadSack
Replied by SadSack on topic Devo 7e DN button issue
Hi

You really need to put a meter across the switch, so you can be sure switch is duff.
Now if it turns out switch is bad. And to check its only the switch that's bad, solder two wire either side and check how it work then.
Hopefully its that but if not you'll need to track back circuit and if there's a break in circuit.
If you struggle finding circuit I've got some picture of pcbs I'll edit to show the route.

Good luck

More
20 May 2014 15:26 #23400 by oldyoyoguy
Replied by oldyoyoguy on topic Devo 7e DN button issue