- Posts: 88
MultiModule help
- skretchmer
- Topic Author
- Offline
After turning unit on with the programmer dfu loaded the screen showed first "unti:1" and then it showed the following, so I believe it programmed successfuly.
found AVR: 0c931e53
hex:17bytes
9 Verified <-- this might be a b Verified, the screen is not clean, the graphics are distorted.
Then I modified the hardware.ini file to reflect the multi-module on A-13, and the three modules on their respective channels, S1, S3 and S402.
After all that, when turning the unit back on with the nightly build dfu loaded the screen shows "module missing multi module".
I have subsequently verified all the modules work individually, when solely connected to the TX unit, and since I was able to do all that, I am relatively sure my soldering skills are not the issue, and that all the modules work correctly.
Can anyone offer any advice on what I might be missing here? is that output from the programmer correct, or is it showing some kind of failure that would explain this?
Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- RedSleds
- Offline
- Posts: 226
Also, did you flash it by itself, or with the transceiver modules mounted on the MM board? If you flashed with all of the transceivers mounted, did you flash using 3.3v or 5v?
multimodv2.zip, hex file for the multimodule v2 is here >> www.deviationtx.com/downloads-new/category/6-old-versions
Try re-flashing the micro-controller with the hex file again. Did you edit the hex text to change the 24 to 84 before running DfuSe?
There are 2 steps to complete. After the first, DOS should say something like:
avrdude: verifying ....
avrdude: 338 bytes of flash verified
avrdude: safemode: Fuses OK <E:FF, H:DF, L:E2>
avrdude done. Thank you
After the second DOS command, it should say something like:
avrdude: verifying ....
avrdude: 1 bytes of efuse verified
avrdude: safemode: Fuses OK <E:FF, H:DF, L:E2>
avrdude done. Thank you
Watch this video from SeByDocKy, starting at 20min 33sec for the steps necessary for flashing the ATtiny
DEVO 10 - Multi-module with nRF24L01 +PA +LNA, A7105 +PA, & CC2500 +PA +LNA transceivers.
Nightly Build: v4.0.1-548bbf5 (6/9/2015)
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- skretchmer
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Posts: 88
i did flash it with the multi-module fully assembled, and fully installed in the TX. I am pretty sure I flashed with 3.3v, as I used the 7e TX to do the flash with the custom .dfu programmer firmware.
I did not modify the hex file, I did not see that instruction anywhere, and I am not familiar with editing hex files. I will look into this.
Thank you for your quick response!
Sam
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- RedSleds
- Offline
- Posts: 226
SeBy's vid is over a year old, and as such, may not be the most recent method. So I'm not sure if the 7e can flash it or not.
Also, I edited my first response to include a link to the old hex file for the v2 multimodule.
DEVO 10 - Multi-module with nRF24L01 +PA +LNA, A7105 +PA, & CC2500 +PA +LNA transceivers.
Nightly Build: v4.0.1-548bbf5 (6/9/2015)
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- skretchmer
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Posts: 88
Thanks
Sam
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- RedSleds
- Offline
- Posts: 226
The one that I linked to is an older version that uses a USBASP programmer.skretchmer wrote: There is a 7e dfu programmer available, and the documentation indicates you can use a 7e. www.deviationtx.com/downloads-new/category/7-programmer-dfus . I do not have access to any other programmer. The hex file in your link is the hex file i used.
Thanks
Sam
Can you give a link to the documentation that you are using?
It would be nice if there were a readme file with some instructions in the programmer-devo7e.zip file, actually it would be nice to have in all of the DEVO programmer .zip files.
DEVO 10 - Multi-module with nRF24L01 +PA +LNA, A7105 +PA, & CC2500 +PA +LNA transceivers.
Nightly Build: v4.0.1-548bbf5 (6/9/2015)
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- skretchmer
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Posts: 88
I'm working off these for the multi-module assembly, programming and install.
bitbucket.org/PhracturedBlue/deviation/w...ing_the_Multi-Module
bitbucket.org/PhracturedBlue/deviation/w...aycomitm110983783515
(section near the bottom shows the multi-modules.)
thanks
Sam
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- RedSleds
- Offline
- Posts: 226
I think so.skretchmer wrote: ok, so for the v1.2 hex file I have to use the USBASP programmer?
I'm working off these for the multi-module assembly, programming and install.
bitbucket.org/PhracturedBlue/deviation/w...ing_the_Multi-Module
bitbucket.org/PhracturedBlue/deviation/w...aycomitm110983783515
(section near the bottom shows the multi-modules.)
thanks
Sam
On the bitbucket.org/PhracturedBlue/deviation/w...ing_the_Multi-Module page, when I click on both of the programmer links, I get a "#404 Category not found" error, so I got the files that I needed for my DEVO 10 from the Downloads section. I suspect that the file you need to use for your 7e is here, if it can indeed program the ATtiny. >> www.deviationtx.com/downloads-new/category/7-programmer-dfus << If the 7e can program the ATtiny, I don't think you use the old hex file at all.
DEVO 10 - Multi-module with nRF24L01 +PA +LNA, A7105 +PA, & CC2500 +PA +LNA transceivers.
Nightly Build: v4.0.1-548bbf5 (6/9/2015)
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- skretchmer
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Posts: 88
I guess I will have to look into finding a v1.3 board, or getting a USBavr programmer so I can program the v1.2 board. It does seem odd that the board needs a different hex file, the microprocessor and modules are the same so why is the hex file different?
thanks
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- skretchmer
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Posts: 88
First it shows this:
1.Init
then the screen changes to:
Found AVR: 0b91e53
hex: 17bytes
1. Erasing
then it shows:
Found AVR: 0b91e53
hex: 17bytes
2. Programming
And then finally:
Found AVR: 0b91e53
hex: 17bytes
3.Done
If i power cycle the 7e again I only get two screens:
first this:
1. Init
then:
Found AVR: 0b91e53
hex: 17bytes
2.Verified
So it seems to be clearly saying it sees the chip, and is loading the hex fine onto the chip successfully. However, when I power on the 7e after re-loading the 4.0.1-c3007aa dfu, I get "missing modules: multimod"
Again I am positive the modules work properly, as I can remove any of them, connect each of them in turn directly to the 7e and they work fine.
any of this help?
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- RedSleds
- Offline
- Posts: 226
;Only useful for transmitters with an after-market vibration motor
;enable-haptic=1
;
;switch_types: 3x2, 3x1, 2x2
;extra-switches=
;
[modules]
; there is no need to enable the cyrf6936 module unless
; it is wired to an alternate port. It is Enabled automatically otherwise
; enable-cyrf6936 = B12
; has_pa-cyrf6936 = 1
enable-a7105 = S1
has_pa-a7105 = 1
enable-cc2500 = S3
has_pa-cc2500 = 1
enable-nrf24l01 = S402
has_pa-nrf24l01 = 1
enable-multimod = A13
DEVO 10 - Multi-module with nRF24L01 +PA +LNA, A7105 +PA, & CC2500 +PA +LNA transceivers.
Nightly Build: v4.0.1-548bbf5 (6/9/2015)
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- skretchmer
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Posts: 88
;Only useful for transmitters with an after-market vibration motor
;enable-haptic=1
;
;switch_types: 3x2, 3x1, 2x2
;extra-switches=
extra-switches=3x2
;
[modules]
; there is no need to enable the cyrf6936 module unless
; it is wired to an alternate port. It is Enabled automatically otherwise
; enable-cyrf6936 = B12
enable-multimod = A13
has_pa-cyrf6936 = 1
enable-a7105 = S1
has_pa-a7105 = 1
enable-cc2500 = S3
has_pa-cc2500 = 1
enable-nrf24l01 = S402
has_pa-nrf24l01 = 1
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- RedSleds
- Offline
- Posts: 226
has_pa-cyrf6936 = 1
needs to be
;has_pa-cyrf6936 = 1
Plus, I am not so sure that your ATtiny84A-P is flashed correctly.
Can anyone else here confirm whether or not the 7e Tx is able to flash the ATtiny micro-controller? From what I can recall, it is not able to do so, and a USBASP programmer is needed to get it done.
DEVO 10 - Multi-module with nRF24L01 +PA +LNA, A7105 +PA, & CC2500 +PA +LNA transceivers.
Nightly Build: v4.0.1-548bbf5 (6/9/2015)
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- mwm
- Offline
However, I can tell you that the ATTiny is NOT correctly flashed here. The "hex: 17 bytes" is the programming firmware telling you that it only found 17 bytes in the file it flashed to the ATTiny.
So you did something wrong. The programmer you flashed to the 7E is corrupt, or the file it is flashing is corrupt.
Do not ask me questions via PM. Ask in the forums, where I'll answer if I can.
My remotely piloted vehicle ("drone") is a yacht.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- skretchmer
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Posts: 88
If I disconnect the "reset" pin from my 7e, I get an error that the AVR can not be found. Between that, and the output I get at all, I believe I am being successful in getting the 7e to talk to the chip across the multi-module for programming.
Short of spending $30 on a ATtiny USB programmer that won't guarantee any of this works either, is there anything else I can do about getting the 7e to correctly flash the chip?
I've tried 2 ATTiny chips on two different OSHpark boards and two full sets of modules, and I get the same results when I get to the programming step.
thanks
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- RedSleds
- Offline
- Posts: 226
DEVO 10 - Multi-module with nRF24L01 +PA +LNA, A7105 +PA, & CC2500 +PA +LNA transceivers.
Nightly Build: v4.0.1-548bbf5 (6/9/2015)
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- skretchmer
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Posts: 88
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- skretchmer
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Posts: 88
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Deal57
- Offline
- Posts: 857
Deviation Devo7e 3way switch mod, A7105, NRF24L01
Devo6s 2x2 switch mod, trim mod, haptic, multimodule, A7105, NRF24L01, CC2500
Devo12e 4-in-1 with voice mod -- it speaks!!
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- skretchmer
- Topic Author
- Offline
- Posts: 88
I have also tried leaving the modules commented out in the hardware.ini file when i run the programmer and it does give me a "no switch cfg" error, so it's clearly seeing the hardware.ini file settings, and if i leave out the AVR.hex file it gives me a AVR not found error.
i have extra 3-way switches installed, which work perfectly, but i even tried disconnecting them from the backplane just to make sure, and everything is the same.
thanks
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Home
- Forum
- News, Announcements and Feedback
- Feedback & Questions
- MultiModule help