Implementing YD717 for my own board???

More
26 Aug 2015 16:24 - 26 Aug 2015 16:24 #37218 by jackwu
Hi all, I'm a newbie here! I'm working on a project where I'm trying to use my own board using the nRF24L01+ chip to communicate with one of the toy quadcopters (Cheerson CX-30). The deviation manual says this is the Sky Walker protocol with YD717, which I see on the bitbucket . Does anyone have any suggestions on how to implement the communications protocol? Or what other components in addition to the chip (I'm using this FRDM board )

Sorry I'm so new and not very good at this... I'd appreciate any advice from you experienced old timers!
Last edit: 26 Aug 2015 16:24 by jackwu.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Aug 2015 17:13 #37220 by mwm
Replied by mwm on topic Implementing YD717 for my own board???
Yup, that nrf24L01 board should work fine, though range might be a bit short for a CX-30. We haven't seen a lot of issues caused by differences between nrf implementations. I'd put it on a socket so switching to a version with a PA & external antenna will be easy if there are range problems.

That's the code you want to use. You might check the DIY multi-protocol module thread on rcgroups. They've ported a bunch of the deviation protocols to an Arduino Pro Mini, which might be useful to you. I'm not familiar with the freescale CPU line, so can't tell exactly what he's using in the tutorial. I don't know of any existing ports using freescale CPUs.

For extra hardware, I don't think you'll need any, but the tutorial you linked to should cover all of that.

Do not ask me questions via PM. Ask in the forums, where I'll answer if I can.

My remotely piloted vehicle ("drone") is a yacht.

More
25 Sep 2015 20:22 #38062 by jackwu
Replied by jackwu on topic Implementing YD717 for my own board???
Hi mwm,