Is it "Brown out"

More
22 Jul 2016 10:58 #51980 by 92zb
Is it "Brown out" was created by 92zb
Yesterday we went to fly my latest FT Explorer for the first time. Performed Range Test which was ok for more then 50 meter. Launched the model and while in its flight the engine was going dead for few sec. and coming alive. We again tested it on the ground and powered for a min. but the motor did not cut, but while flying again it happened again, even on reduced power to see whether it was ESC getting which was getting hot, but no change.

This was the setup :
FT Explorer
REDCON CM421 2.4G 4CH Full-Range DSM2 Compatible Receiver
EMAX GT2215-12 2215 905KV Outrunner Brushless Motor
ZOP 2200 3S Lipo Battery
EMAX BLHeli Series 6A 12A 30A ESC
DEVO 7e with latest nightly.

As I am a novice as far as 2.4 Mhz and Electric flight setup but my mate who was testing this model was an old hand but he never heard of multi protocol DEVE.. I suspect the receiver, because it is a chipo. Next time i will use Orange receiver and see what happens.
Could some one please shed some light on it. Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Jul 2016 12:26 - 22 Jul 2016 12:30 #51983 by Thomas.Heiss
Replied by Thomas.Heiss on topic Is it "Brown out"
There seem to be some receivers which offer quick re-connect.

I heard about that reading on newer Spektrum DSM2 receivers.
Re-connect is also a term I read about on Spektrum DSMx receiver technology.

Hard to tell if it is the receiver.

As in all threads I would have to advise:
- to also test with a Spektrum genuine full-range receiver

- use Spektrum FlightLog telemetry with a TM1000 and DSMx receiver data port

- anthing which could block / shield the antennas, e.g electronics (ESCS, servos, motor, motor), lipo power cables, away from lipo = shielding
Funny, FT explorer is a plane - I initially thought about quadcopter :-)