True diversity on the tx end, what would it take?

More
09 Jul 2015 15:48 #35283 by Cereal_Killer
As the title says, what would it take to setup a diversity setup on a Devo tx? We have multiple point diversity receivers (my current OrangeRX system has 4 antenna, 2 in the vertical and 2 in the horizontal plain- 2 on the main RX and 2 on the sat), I get good reception most of the time but I notice a pretty substantial drop in range when I go strapping on my metal camera bracket (and camera it's self) and all that crap. I think having 2 antennas on the txt would be pretty beneficial. Can I just hook up a second CRF module to the same pins and have it transmit the same signal at the same time as the internal one? Is there some sort of [logic based, I know a actual Y splitter won't work] RF splitter so I can use only the one module with a device between it and the antenna(s)?

I'm a RF noob (but am very interested in learning). I want to stick with omnidirectional linear antennas but would like to get my tx upgraded to real diversity. How can I do this?

Obviously price is a concern but just to get the convo started let's pretend for a sec it's not...

Taranis X9E | DEVO 10 | Devo U7E | Taranis Q7

What I do in real life: rivergoequestrian.com/

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Jul 2015 18:42 #35284 by Fernandez
It is a bit difficult to state "true" diversity.

They way most receivers are implemented is that the same signal from Tx is received by different rx antennas, the best antenna is then selected, but only one rx chip. How this selection is done and what algorithm hyseteresys to switch i do not know.

A better way would be multiple different rx chips both with it's own antenna, then the output between dffferent receivers is compared and best is selected.
like with DSMX spectrum sattelites. The big risk is still if there is big interference in 2.4ghz band, all rx antennas are affected.