Connect the 7E to an android phone via cable?

More
02 Jan 2016 07:38 #41300 by WildDoktor
Hey all; new here. I have a Devo 7E on its way to my home and am curious about this. I asked it over at RCGroups but haven't had any response, so thought I'd ask here as well.

I'm new to multirotors and it's winter, and I really need to practice. I know the 7E will hook up to a PC as a joystick and I can use it for PC multirotor sims so I'll definitely be doing that. (Already am, but with an xbox controller. Not ideal, but it works for now.)

But there are a couple cool RC Multirotor apps for Android as well.

So I'm wondering: can I plug this adapter (or similar) into the 7E, then plug my normal android charging cable into it and my phone (Galaxy Note 5), and use the 7E as a controller for those apps?

Or, is there another way? I read something about bluetooth and audrino (sp?) but that's a bit above my paygrade at the moment. :blink:

In any case, I'm going to give this a try once my 7E and adapter arrive...unfortunately they won't arrive until Feb 2!! Arg, the anticipation... :-)

Thanks, and hello!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Jan 2016 20:58 #41319 by RoGuE_StreaK
Replied by RoGuE_StreaK on topic Connect the 7E to an android phone via cable?
Not a definitive answer, but I just plugged my 6S into my Moto G2 (stock lollipop) with an OTG connector, and the 6S using the USBHID protocol; didn't try a sim, but I did get it navigating through the screens using the aileron and elevator! :P

More
02 Jan 2016 21:36 #41320 by WildDoktor
Replied by WildDoktor on topic Connect the 7E to an android phone via cable?

RoGuE_StreaK wrote: Not a definitive answer, but I just plugged my 6S into my Moto G2 (stock lollipop) with an OTG connector, and the 6S using the USBHID protocol; didn't try a sim, but I did get it navigating through the screens using the aileron and elevator! :P