Single quad; still advantages to Deviation?

More
24 Feb 2017 18:17 #59572 by cjochetz
Hey, all. Total noob here. I have a Devo 10 and an F210 3D quad. Was considering the install of Deviation for use in sim apps on a Mac (I think it's required). Even though I only have a single model at the moment, are there still advantages to installing Deviation? Or am I just signing up for undue complexity by doing so? While I'm not necessarily technically challenged, I'm new to this hobby so I don't know much.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Feb 2017 19:00 #59574 by mwm
Yes, there are some advantages. The transmitter is the most important part of your RC aircraft system - it's the only part you can touch while flying! So even minor improvements matter.

Just getting away from the transmitter bundled with most RTF packages is a major step up in quality. Since you asked about "installing" it, I suspect you've already done that, but wanted to cover that for completeness. Everything feels a little better, most notably the gimbals will be smoother and more precise, and will return to center better when release. Those typically aren't programmable, which can turn an unwieldy, painful flyer into something really nice.

If you've got a Walkera Devo transmitter, you've already got most of those benefits. In all honesty, that will be easier to use than Deviation. The following applies to the last release (5.0), which I'd recommend for you. It may not be true for the nightly builds, as they are changing rather quickly.