Anyone successfully added the new iRangeX iRX4?

More
04 Jul 2017 00:35 #63273 by chase
Hi,

I just received my Devo 12.
I saw in the thread a 4n1 was added.

Is reading about the new IRangeX iRX4 4n1 JR module and how it has more memory now. 128k versus 32k of the previous board due to a new STM32 chip. See below

And read more about it on the Bangood product page here:
Banggood IRangeX iRX4 4n1

I know it's designed for use with the FrSky TX's such as the Taranis and others that use OpenTX but I was curious if anyone has taken it out of its plastic case and tried installing it in a Devo TX?
If it can be...

And if it can, is it more robust memory wise than current 4n1 being installed in Deviation TX's?

I'm new to all this so... I'm curious. And want to know what's what before attempting a hardware mod.

Adding a 4n1 seems more efficient than adding individual chips and additional antennas.
Are there any cons to going with a 4n1 over individual chips etc?

Thanks
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Jul 2017 03:50 #63274 by vlad_vy
For Deviation we don't need external module version. You need internal 4in1 designed for Devo Tx. It's direct replacement for original module and it use original Tx antenna. You will need to solder 3 wires only, for selecting additional RF chips.

www.banggood.com/CC2500-NRF24L01-A7105-C...07.html?rmmds=search

About module connection and "hardware.ini" editing:
www.deviationtx.com/forum/7-development/...dule?start=940#55157

More
04 Jul 2017 04:29 - 04 Jul 2017 04:29 #63275 by chase
Thanks for the response.
I would think the fact it's in a case wouldn't be relevant.
It can be removed from the plastic case easy enough.

I was familiar with the one you linked to, it's in the Devo 12e thread.
There's no additional memory onboard that one? Or is there?