A few noob questions - Devo 6s & Macintosh

More
17 Nov 2015 03:18 #40132 by mellowvision
A few noob questions - Devo 6s & Macintosh was created by mellowvision
Hello,

This is my first post here, so hello from Brooklyn NY. I've been reading the forums quite a bit, while deciding if I wanted to get a Devo 6s with deviation... and I finally pulled the trigger and got a modded Devo 6s from Jon on RCgroups. It came today, and I've already messed it up twice, so I thought I'd seek some guidance.

I thought I'd get a feeling for the file system by making a custom splash screen and adding it to the system. I'm a graphic designer, and have photoshop, so making a bmp hasn't been a problem. I am, however, on a mac, and I'm having issues getting the files I make to work, and also with disconnecting the unit. I've already had one big problem, where I think I disconnected the unit before it was ready, and the media and layouts folders disappeared off the devo. When it started up, most of the graphics were missing and replaced with gibberish text. I had made a backup into a disc image on the mac, so I was able to replace those two folders, and it booted back up normally.

In order to connect, I've had to go into the settings, arrow back a page to the usb connect mode page and enable usb mode. Then it appears right away on my Mac. But I can not seem to disconnect without just shutting it off, which gives an error on the mac (which is typical of pulling a drive without "ejecting" it first) but what's really strange is, that if I eject on the mac, it ejects, and then reappears 2 seconds later, everytime I eject, it keeps remounting the mac. Also, once I put it into usb mode, the devo won't let me press enter to exit usb mode. I also can not leave the USB message screen. It's like the controller is not responsive until I reboot. (is this normal?)