simple questions i cant find answers for, help.

More
02 Mar 2016 21:47 - 02 Mar 2016 21:49 #43996 by Blower
hi all i am new to rc quad and devo and deviation, i have managed to upgrade my 7e with the nrf module, flash it and can fly the various quads i have purchased but i am struggling to find answers to the following questions:
1) what buttons on my 7e are the virtual buttons, i know that they are trim buttons and ext button ect but which number is what channel? ie whats virtual channel number 6?
2) how do i find out which channels control what on my quads? lights flips rates
3) what setting do i use for switches ie 1 to 1 , expo 0, absval just for turning things like lights on or off
4) different rates, are these part of the protocol or do i have to assign them myself to switches
these are all probably simple things and are answered clearly somewhere but i cant find it, i dont want to spend all my flying time stumbling around looking for answers.
by the way i am extremely impressed with the improved flying abilities of all my quad using this software :)
Last edit: 02 Mar 2016 21:49 by Blower.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Mar 2016 22:52 #43998 by Deal57
Deviation is pretty easy to get started, and you obviously have enough experience and skills to understand the basics. The learning curve can begin to get steep, but take things one step at a time and you'll find this makes sense. I have literally hundreds of model.ini files that I've tested, disassembled, used in the emulator and even flown to get my head wrapped around the function I wanted.
1. Virtual channels are not just buttons. Like any channel in deviation you can assign it to a variety of functions, either as a button, a switch, a timer, whatever. The tutorials section of the forum lists a couple of really good tutorials on how to use virtual channels. Nearly every one of my models uses virtual channels.