Total newbie with a few questions

More
29 Oct 2016 00:31 #55493 by Fallingwater
Total newbie with a few questions was created by Fallingwater
Hi! I'm ready to dive deeper into the world of quadcopters, and an absolute requirement for that is a good transmitter. I'm trying to figure things out on my own and I've read the FAQ and getting started guide, but a few questions have arisen that I can't find a practical answer to.

I currently have a cheap brushed model I'm training on, but I'd like to eventually get a Hubsan H501S (and maybe eventually build my own, but that'll come much later). Thing is, Hubsan's transmitters leave me cold - the standard one is considered less precise (which is bad for aerial video), but the advanced one is significantly more expensive and only works on Hubsan stuff. I'd like to get the standard package and put the money that the advanced one would cost toward a Devo transmitter with a RF plugin, which I could also use with the brushed cheapie and other future models.
  • Should I get the much cheaper 7e or splurge on the 10? I understand that the 7e can be hacked to enable the signal amplifier by bridging a diode with an easy soldering job and two switches can be added with trivial surgery; with Deviation installed this gets you 8 channels and most of the power of the Devo 10.