- Posts: 59
JJRC H20 Hex Quad
- Caerus
- Offline
wasp09 wrote: I one and only one H20H. Stock battery is dead. I am flying it with my V911 batteries on new connectors. I have 8 of them never used. My V911 is still on old connector.
It flies well on devo 10 now, just have to get used to the special throttle operation and don't run it into the ceiling and blinds.
I wish I could add to the H20H protocol but my order (2 x H20H) was sent back to banggood. Been buying online since 2004, first time that's ever happened. Couldn't find out why so I got annoyed and took a refund. I'll order some if it's still needed.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Caerus
- Offline
- Posts: 59
goebish wrote:
Caerus wrote: I just looked on the bench and there's 2 more I haven't unboxed yet . I'll wire them up as well. So total = 2 x H20 mini/2 x H30 mini.
Yes, please dump the 4 Tx
K. Watching some MotoGP atm... Should still get to it tonight.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- goebish
- Offline
- I Void Warranties
- Posts: 2631
Caerus wrote: I wish I could add to the H20H protocol but my order (2 x H20H) was sent back to banggood. Been buying online since 2004, first time that's ever happened. Couldn't find out why so I got annoyed and took a refund. I'll order some if it's still needed.
No worries, there are already 3 IDs in the code, should be enough, they can be selected with different fixed ID in deviation.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- goebish
- Offline
- I Void Warranties
- Posts: 2631
Protocol: H8_3D, Format: H20 Mini
www.dropbox.com/sh/d1v07zxqop6w0gi/AAB5k...wIUPRPq-47TzAra?dl=0
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- wasp09
- Offline
- Posts: 211
This is amazingly fast.
Regarding to the little yaw detected on my H20H, I looked at the code you checked in. Scale_channel (for non H20H) bends the negative portion of channel 4 in a special way to fit between 60 and 0 with a negative slope. How did we figure that out? It also effectively adds a dead zone (+/-166) for channel 4. H20h_scale_channel does not have that special treatment for channel 4. I wonder if a little dead zone would help to stop the drift on my H20H, we won't need the negative slope bending as yaw is working correctly.
Regards.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- goebish
- Offline
- I Void Warranties
- Posts: 2631
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- wasp09
- Offline
- Posts: 211
--- h8_3d_nrf24l01.c.orig 2017-05-08 17:02:30.000000000 -0400
+++ h8_3d_nrf24l01.c 2017-05-08 17:12:26.000000000 -0400
@@ -194,6 +194,12 @@
{
s32 chanval = Channels[ch];
s16 destMin=0x43, destMax=0xbb;
+ if (ch==CHANNEL4) {
+ if ((chanval > (CHAN_MIN_VALUE / 60)) &&
+ (chanval < (CHAN_MAX_VALUE / 60))) {
+ return 0x7f;
+ }
+ }
s32 range = destMax - destMin;
if (chanval < CHAN_MIN_VALUE) chanval = CHAN_MIN_VALUE;
else if (chanval > CHAN_MAX_VALUE) chanval = CHAN_MAX_VALUE;
It does help. Actualy I don't mind having even a bit more, perhaps doubling the zone using 30 instead of 60.
Adding trim is not as effective as my stick does not always return to 0 perfectly according to stick monitor. Configuring a dead zone on devo should do the job, but not everyone knows how. I have to look it up again. I have bad memory.
Regards,
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- goebish
- Offline
- I Void Warranties
- Posts: 2631
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Caerus
- Offline
- Posts: 59
goebish wrote: Here is a first test build for H20/H30 mini (only 2 different IDs)
Protocol: H8_3D, Format: H20 Mini
www.dropbox.com/sh/d1v07zxqop6w0gi/AAB5k...wIUPRPq-47TzAra?dl=0
Thanks goebish. I stopped getting email updates for this thread for some reason. I wouldn't have pulled my Devo apart if I'd known (installing 4 in 1). I did the captures for the other 2 mini's, as I said I would. Sorry it took a few days. Caught a cold and wasn't up to it til now. I'll check the build soon.
www.dropbox.com/s/99r2m59zweu0oqq/
www.dropbox.com/s/fgy7dfjsmv2a2zz/
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- goebish
- Offline
- I Void Warranties
- Posts: 2631
I'll take a look at your captures and add the new IDs/Freqs to the code.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- wasp09
- Offline
- Posts: 211
I have an off topic equation.
How does binding ID work? I am using the same unique ID on both my devo 7e and devo 10 to talk to the same RX (DSM2 Sat in this case). I have to go through binding again switching between the 2 devo's. Shouldn't TXs with same unique ID be able to drop in and work without rebinding?
Regards.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- goebish
- Offline
- I Void Warranties
- Posts: 2631
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- FDR
- Offline
You will only need to bind it one more time for that new TX ID...
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- goebish
- Offline
- I Void Warranties
- Posts: 2631
so, just add this line at the beginning of your hardware.ini on both Devo:
txid=12345678
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- wasp09
- Offline
- Posts: 211
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- FDR
- Offline
Yes, because it is dangerous.goebish wrote: Is there a reason it's not in the template hardware.ini files ?
If we had it in the source, everybody would have the same txid!
I would strongly recommend to set it to some random value instead of 12345678...
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- goebish
- Offline
- I Void Warranties
- Posts: 2631
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Moeder
- Offline
- Posts: 796
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- ajtank
- Offline
- Posts: 278
wasp09 wrote: I put channel 11 on a switch. it turns lights on when it is on and lights off when it is off. It works like a light switch for H20H. However if we turn lights off in flight it also turns off the motors like channel 5. We can still fly with lights off when we switch off the lights before takeoff. Turning lights back on in flight does not cause any problems. Strange.
One thing I forgot to mention, to airborne, we have to put the throttle stick at centre before flipping channel 5 to on. Then throttle up to pop the H20H up. If we keep the throttle down like ordinary aircraft, the motors would shut down again zoon after starting them with channel 5. We probably won't have time to pop the H20 up before motors shut down. Throttle on stock TX is spring loaded to keep it at centre on idle, we have to operate it same way on devo. I won't spring load my throttle stick on devo though.
BTW, my H20H yaw clockwises slowly on devo but holds solid on stock TX. I have calibrated the sticks but I still need trim to stop the yaw. I do not notice that on controlling other aircrafts with my devo10. Is that anything special on coding channel 4 for the H20H protocol, or could we be missing a gyro setting? It is still flyable, not a big issue.
Go ahead merge it. If others find anything else, you can always add changes to it afterwards. Protocol is usable at this stage.
Thanks.
@goebish
glad to see your new addition of protocol
ch5
I use a virtual momentary switch to take off. I have to set throttle to middle position before triggering ch5 otherwise motors will stop shortly. Same findings as wasp09.
ch11
It controls light on/off but it also affects ch5.
When ch11=100: light turns on and emergency stop does not work.
When ch11=-100: light turns off but emergency stop works.
@wasp09
Could you test ch11 again as above?
Did you capture at maximum rate?
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- goebish
- Offline
- I Void Warranties
- Posts: 2631
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Home
- Forum
- Development
- Protocol Development
- JJRC H20 Hex Quad